Well, shut my mouth!

shut my mouth

Hi! I’m putting the dumb in idiom! This is a retrospect in hindsight.

Officially my first time on stage doing noises, was in the 9th grade. 1982. I did sounds for a talent show at Prin! I loved using a BIG sound system and that train sounded real!

I practiced noises in school! Here’s proof.

def rep

In 11th grade we entered a teen talent competition and were finalists at the Fabulous Fox Theater in St Louis.

teen talent

Here is the video!!


For the last 20 years I have been working in schools, libraries and festivals across the US, Canada and Australia! (Me onstage for a July 4rth festival on the Mall, in DC!)

charlie onstage, dc

chaz in aus2

 

 

 

I loved the audiences and meeting new friends. But being my own boss was tough, I had to fire myself a few times and managing the open field of creativity was a trial!

Well, my freight damaged brain is under new management and the days of being right side dominant are past. Left side rules the roost now, which is kinda like having Spock in charge of the Enterprise.
It is a different style. Funny, safe but definitely otherworldly.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I started off in the Funnybone comedy club in Westport, St Louis, back in 1988.

comedyyI had only recently graduated from High School!coverarange

I remember being so nervous to actually speak. I used to do a set of just noises in the form of a comedy story.

A old car making noises and racing a train.

improvme

At the time I was going to UMSL for ~early childhood, ~art and ~hard knocks.
Here’s the 62 Bel air Chevy my vignette was based on.

1988 st louis chevy belair

I started working at McCare, a preschool for McDonnell Douglass. This is where I started working the comedy, sounds and stories into kid friendly story-times. Then in Wyoming, I started working at the public library. I got to do story-times and lend a hand with books, I loved it!

thanksgiving library

From there I started doing programs for schools and libraries across the ‘ol West. Then the South, Midwest, then the South-East Upper Mid West.

Creativity was fun, I would write content when the mood hit and stare out the window and dream. But now, logic is kind and the content is written in reverse, I must have the objectives lined up before I launch a vignette, story or book.

ode

I also see that having my own job and being free range Charlie is great for self expression, but I ran my life arc in reverse. Most folk get a steady job first, then they seek a career change into self expression. I am doing that backwards too. For 30 years (I include comedy and side jobs as I was working as a waiter, in produce, in preschools and libraries) I did whatever I wanted to do. Now I must do what I have to do. Balance?!

Well I published a compendium of cartoon strips that ran in the state paper in Wyoming. I taught cartoon strip creation and I’m still drawing.

It’s better to burn out than fade away? Well how about both? How about burning brightly, then doing a fade out on the coda? LOL

Neenerr neenerr neeah-nerrr

wi press

I toured libraries and schools in Australia and Canada and 49 of the 50 states. Nowadays I am a freight damaged Noiseguy, slightly used but the mileage sure shows. My random, case-by-case shows are labeled “As Is.”

Funny in my own state! (of mind)

a sst logo bw copy

Leave a Reply

